UQ celebrates outstanding alumni

17 Oct 2014

A globally influential Australian investor, one of the only women in the world to run a privatised airport, and leaders in engineering, diplomatic services and agriculture are among 17 outstanding graduates who received The University of Queensland’s 2014 Alumni Awards.

They were celebrated at UQ’s annual Courting the Greats ceremony on Thursday 2 October 2014.

Thirteen of the recipients were selected by UQ including five for the Vice-Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Awards, five within the Distinguished Young Alumni Awards, an International Alumnus of the Year, an Indigenous Community Impact Award and a Colleges’ UQ Alumni Award.

The 2014 Vice-Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Awards were presented to:
Ms Julieanne Alroe, Brisbane Airport Corporation CEO and Managing Director;
Mr Andrew Buckley, former CEO and Managing Director of leading engineering company Cardno;
Mr Ian Kemish AM, former High Commissioner to Papua New Guinea;
Mr Matthew McLennan, Portfolio Manager and Head of Global Value for First Eagle Investment Management in New York; and
Dr Gabrielle Persley AM, senior leader in international agricultural research and food security.

The 13 recipients were nominated and endorsed by their peers and selected by a committee led by UQ Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Peter Høj AC.

“The award winners are all UQ graduates who have demonstrated their determination to succeed and make a positive impact on their communities,” Professor Høj said.

“UQ has more than 215,000 alumni spread across the globe, and this year’s award-winners are working to create a better world not only in Australia, but in the United States, Europe, Africa and Asia.

“We are delighted that they are part of the University of Queensland family.

“They are an inspiration to other alumni, and to UQ staff and students.”

The alumni awards were introduced in 1992, and the first Vice-Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Awards were presented in 2013.

Previous award winners have included Academy Award-winning actor Geoffrey Rush, author David Malouf, Dow Chemical Company Chairman Andrew Liveris, leading melanoma researcher Professor Adéle Green AC, Wotif.com founders Graeme Wood AM and Andrew Brice AM, former Governor-General Dr Quentin Bryce AD and former Governor of Queensland Dr Penelope Wensley AC.

The Alumni Friends of The University of Queensland Inc. selected four award-recipients separately to UQ.

UQ Sportswoman of the Year Ms Caitlin Sargent and Sportsman of the Year Mr Aidan Rintala were also acknowledged and celebrated on the night for their excellence in sport and contribution to university life.

Distinguished Young Alumni Awards

Dr Tarni Cooper - Humanitarian and international veterinary scientist;
Dr Warren Hogarth - Venture Capitalist and Partner at Sequoia Capital;
Dr Alexandra (Alex) Markwell - Dedicated emergency clinician, medical advocate and educator;
Ms Luisa Ryan - Involved in the United Nations Peacekeeping Mission in the Democratic Republic of Congo; and
Mr Carl Smith - Multiple-award winning science journalist.

International Alumnus of the Year

Professor Endang Sukara - A highly recognised and acclaimed scientist in his homeland of Indonesia, and a passionate advocate of scientific learning.

Indigenous Community Impact Award

Professor Megan Davis - Professor of Law, a Commissioner of the NSW Land and Environment Court and a United Nations expert member of the Permanent Forum on Indigenous Peoples.

Colleges’ UQ Alumni Award

Mr Malcolm Snow (International House) - Passionate urban planner and advocate for his profession, with a lifelong commitment to changing the future for the better.

Alumni Friends of the University of Queensland Inc. Awards

Alumnus of the Year

Dr Sallyanne Atkinson AO (Women's College) - One of the most respected public figures in Queensland who has an outstanding record of service to the Australian public and business community.

Graduates of the Year

Each Graduate of the Year graduated with a perfect 7.0 GPA, First Class Honours and the University Medal.

Mr Aaron Brooker – Bachelor of Engineering (Civil Engineering);
Mr Morgan Lewis – Bachelor of Engineering (Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering); and
Ms Tayla Tatzenko – Bachelor of Biomedical Science.