On 6 April 2013, the new Museum of Brisbane will open in a purpose-built gallery on the rooftop of the refurbished City Hall.
To tell Brisbane’s story, the Museum is highlighting the city’s past by installing giant numbers around the CBD in April, representing dates and locations where significant historical events took place.
The University of Queensland is featured in this collection of Brisbane stories through the Mayne family, who were founding benefactors of the University.
The number 1923 represents the Brisbane Arcade, which was built by the Mayne family and opened in 1923, 58 years after the death of family patriarch Patrick Mayne whose house stood on the original site of the Arcade.
In that same year, Patrick's children, James and Mary Emelia donated 693 acres of land at Pinjarra Hills to the University.
In 1926, James and Mary Emelia donated a further 63,000 pounds to the Brisbane City Council to reclaim over 200 acres of land on the St Lucia bend of the Brisbane River as James became aware that the University would soon outgrow its buildings in George Street in Brisbane’s CBD.
The first sandstone foundations were laid at St Lucia in 1939, with its doors finally opening to students after the Second World War, in 1949.
The Museum of Brisbane wants the public to discover more about themselves and the city, and the large dates around town are a reminder Brisbane has many intriguing stories. The Museum hopes to start a conversation about interesting events, people and places in Brisbane’s history and is encouraging people to share their own stories through social media and its website www.museumofbrisbane.com.au