UQ community members receive Australia Day honours

30 Jan 2017
Professor Max Lu AO, former UQ Provost. Photo courtesy of the University of Surrey.

Eminent members of the University of Queensland community have been recognised in the Australia Day 2017 Honours List.

Provost and Acting Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Aidan Byrne congratulated the award recipients and thanked them for their contributions to Australia and to UQ.

Alumnus and former Queensland Premier Anna Bligh was named a Companion (AC) in the General Division of the Order of Australia. Ms Bligh has a UQ Doctor of Laws honoris causa (2010) and a Bachelor of Arts (1981).

Among those named as Officers of the Order of Australia (AO) yesterday were:

Professor Max Lu, former UQ Provost and Senior Vice-President (2014-16) is a UQ alumnus (PhD 1991) who held UQ executive, research, teaching roles over two decades before becoming Vice-Chancellor and President of the University of Surrey, UK, in April 2016. Professor Lu was recognised for distinguished service to education, to national and international research in the fields of materials chemistry and nanotechnology, to engineering, and to Australia-China relations.

Professor Peter Gray, pictured, founding director of UQ’s Australian Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology, was recognised for distinguished service to science in the field of bioengineering and nanotechnology as an academic and researcher, and to professional biotechnology associations.

Adjunct Professor Liz Kenny, Medical Director of the Herston Imaging Research Facility, was recognised for distinguished service to medicine as a clinician and researcher in the field of radiation oncology, and to executive roles with professional organisations nationally and internationally. Professor Kenny is a UQ alumnus, having been awarded her Bachelor of Medicine / Bachelor of Surgery in 1980.

Ms Roberta "Bobbie" Anne Brazil, for distinguished service to tertiary education governance, to agricultural, environmental and resource management organisations, and to women in rural and regional areas. Ms Brazil has three UQ degrees: Bachelor of Arts (1966), Bachelor of Laws (1987) and Master Laws (1998). 

Named as Members in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM) were:

Associate Professor William Emmerson, recognised for significant service to medicine, particularly to psychiatry, to medical administration and through contributions to mental health groups. Dr Emmerson was awarded his UQ Bachelor of Medicine / Bachelor of Surgery in 1979.

Emeritus Professor Robert Stimson, from UQ’s School of Earth and Environmental Sciences, for significant service to science as a researcher and academic, particularly in the discipline of analytical human geography.

Honorary Professor Catherine Turner, from UQ’s School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work, for significant service to nursing through research into nurse practice and population health, and to professional organisations. Professor Turner was awarded her UQ Bachelor of Medicine / Bachelor of Surgery in 1979. 

Among those named as Members of the Order of Australia in the General Division (OAM) were:

Professor Neal Ashkanasy, from the UQ Business School, for service to tertiary education, to psychology and to the community. Professor Askenasy is a UQ alumnus: he has a Bachelor of Arts First Class Honours (1982), Diploma in Computer Science (1972) and a Doctor of Philosophy – Psychology (1989). Professor Ashkenasy is a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences.

Mr John Abbott Ferguson, a past director of University of Queensland Press and a UQ alumnus -- Bachelor of Commerce (1966), Associate in Commerce (1966). Mr Ferguson was recognised for service to sailing and to the community.

Mr David Barbagallo, former Endeavour Foundation chief executive, was awarded a UQ Bachelor of Surveying (1981). He is  also a former president of the UQ Union.

Mr John Mitchell Hardy, author of 50th Anniversary Diploma Graduates Year Book 2016, UQ Gatton Past Student Association, for service to veterans and their families.

Mr John Stuart Johnstone, honorary treasurer, University of Queensland Rifle Club, for service to rifle shooting.

Mr Frederick John (Jack) Lunn, a former chair of the UQ Contact magazine editorial board, for service to print media, and to the community. Mr Lunn is a former editor of The Courier-Mail and Sunday Mail and a former director and deputy chairman of Queensland Press Limited. He was awarded a Bachelor of Economics (1968) and a Graduate Diploma in Journalism (1963).

Honorary Professor Ian Arthur Meyers, from the UQ School of Dentistry, for service to dentistry, to professional associations and to tertiary education. Professor Meyers is a UQ alumnus, with a Bachelor of Dental Science (1982).

Dr Keith Warrington Zabell, a past senior lecturer with the UQ School of Medicine, for service to medicine, particularly opthalmology. Dr Zabell is a UQ alumnus, with a Bachelor of Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery (1974).

Mr William “Bill” Bowness, a generous donor to UQ who gave $1 million in 2014 to establish Australia’s first Telerehabilitation Clinic for speech pathology services and to support financially disadvantaged students. His OAM was awarded for distinguished service to the visual and performing arts through philanthropic contributions, fundraising and advisory roles, and to the building and construction industry. Mr Bowness is a UQ alumnus, with a Bachelor of Commerce (1968), an Associate in Commerce (1969), a Certificate in Provisional Accountancy (1967) and a Doctor of Business (2015). 

Professor Byrne said the UQ community worked every day to make the world a better place, with researchers and teachers addressing universal and global issues.

“I thank all the awardees for their dedication, focus and passion and for the amazing contribution they all make, or have made, to the life of the University,” he said. 

Contact: Fiona Cameron, UQ Communications, communications@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 7086.