UQ community members shine

3 July 2017

A number of UQ alumni, staff and community members have been recognised in both the 2017 Queen’s Birthday Honours List and 2017 Queensland Greats.

Among those honoured as Queensland Greats were UQ Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Engagement) Professor Cindy Shannon and Queensland Brain Institute Founding Director Professor Perry Bartlett.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk (Bachelor of Arts ’89, Bachelor of Laws ’98) presented the pair with their awards, which celebrate the efforts and achievements of extraordinary Queenslanders who have contributed to the State’s history and development.

Professor Shannon (Bachelor of Arts ’86, Doctor of Social Science’04) was recognised for her pivotal role in Indigenous health policy. Professor Shannon was previously the Director of UQ’s Centre for Indigenous Health and guided the development and implementation of Australia’s first degree-level program specifically targeted at Aboriginal health workers.

She has also been a key player in creating a focus on urban Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander populations and contributed to the establishment of the Institute for Urban Indigenous Health.

Professor Bartlett was recognised as a Queensland Great for his significant contribution to science and his leadership in establishing a world-class neuroscience research institute, UQ’s Queensland Brain Institute (QBI).

A number of UQ alumni, staff and friends were also recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List, which celebrates Australia’s finest philanthropists, leaders, activists, researchers and visionaries for their contributions to Australia.

Among those named Companion (AC) in the General Division of the Order of Australia were:

Professor Ian O'Connor (Bachelor of Social Work (First Class Honours) ’80, Doctor of Philosophy ’85).

Griffith University Vice-Chancellor and UQ alumnus Professor Ian O’Connor was awarded a Companion (AC) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for “eminent service to tertiary education, particularly to the strategic development of national and international university initiatives, and to the community through engagement in social policy, child welfare and juvenile justice research”.

Professor O’Connor has also held various academic appointments at UQ including Head of the Department of Social Work and Social Policy, Senate member and Academic Board president.


Among those named as Officers of the Order of Australia (AO) were:

Honorary Professor Rajiv Khanna from UQ’s School of Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine.  For distinguished service to medicine in the field of immunology, through contributions to the development of cellular immunotherapies for the treatment of cancers, infectious complications and chronic disease.     


Among those named as Members in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM) were:

Ms Fiona Helen Guthrie (Master Business Admin ’92).  For significant service to the community through social welfare and financial counselling roles.                             

Miss Marisa Vecchio (Bachelor of Arts ’87). For significant service to the community, particularly to health administration, standards and accreditation, to education, and to business.                         

Mr Kosmas Sclavos (Bachelor of Pharmacy ’85). For significant service to the pharmacy profession through a range of retail, advisory and executive roles, to education, and to community health.

Mrs Lynne Dolores Price (Bachelor of Speech Therapy ’70). For significant service to youth, particularly to girls and young women, at the state and national level through Girl Guides.      

Dr Leslie Selwyn Hall (Doctor of Philosophy (Anatomical Sciences) ’88). For significant service to veterinary science as a specialist in the area of bat biology, and as an academic, researcher and mentor.                                                           

Ms Mary Ann Kelly (Bachelor of Arts ’76, Grad Dip Education ’77).  For significant service to education, to policy development and advocacy in schools, and to student and staff equity in the university sector.

The Hon Justice Michelle May (Bachelor of Laws ’79). For significant service to the law,  particularly to the  Family  Court of  Australia, to judicial administration, and to professional associations.                                                                                  

Professor Ann Margaret McGrath (Bachelor of Arts (Honours) ’77). For significant service to the social  sciences as  an academic  and researcher  in the field of Indigenous history, and to tertiary education.

Dr David William Robinson (Bachelor of Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery ’69). For significant service to medicine as a plastic and reconstructive surgeon, and to the primary industry sector, particularly to agriculture.                                                          

Mr Andrew Milton Wells (Bachelor of Science ’77). For significant  service to  academic librarianship,  to the  development of  innovative information delivery technologies, and to professional councils.                                                                                        

Ms Karyn Walsh (Doctor of Social Work and Nursing honoris causa ’16). For significant service to the community through social welfare initiatives, to support for people who are homeless, to children, and to mental health.      


Among those named as Members of the Order of Australia in the Military Division (AM) were:

Air Commodore Michael John Burnett (Bachelor of Economics ’79, Bachelor of Laws ’82). For exceptional service as a legal officer and as the Deputy Judge Advocate General - Air Force.


Among those named as Members of the Order of Australia in the General Division (OAM) were:

Mrs Karen Eve Spiller (Bachelor of Arts ’80, Bachelor of Educational Studies ’84, Grad Dip Education ’90, Master Educational Admin ’94). For service to women, and to education.

Dr Allan Edward Cook (Bachelor of Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery ’65). For service to medicine as an orthopaedic surgeon.                                             

Associate Professor Terence James Coyne (Bachelor of Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery ’83). For service to medicine as a neurosurgeon.

Dr Geoffrey Alexander Harding (Bachelor of Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery ’82). For service to musculoskeletal medicine.

Mr Neil Campbell MacKenzie (Dip in Mech & Elect Engineering ’48). For service to the community through scale model steam train displays.

Emeritus Professor John Ernest Marley from UQ’s Faculty of Medicine and Biological Sciences. For service to medical education.