Alumni Friends: Leadership Board

New members of Alumni Friends, Friends of Antiquity and the Book Group are always welcome; explore your membership options here.

Alumni Friends is a UQ ‘Giving Society’, formed in 2020 on the official closure of the Incorporated association (Alumni Friends of The University of Queensland Inc). UQ’s first alumni association was also an Australian-first. During the first fifty-plus years of connection with UQ, members and volunteers donated the equivalent of over $10 million to UQ (including, with some UQ matching, over $1.8m during 2019-20).

UQ created the Society to:

  • recognise the past contributions of Alumni Friends’ members and volunteerssupport and build on the ‘best’ of Alumni Friends support for UQ (including the Book Group, Friends of Antiquity, 3T Events [previously ‘Three Score’ talks] and a suite of established awards and scholarships)
  • attract new members and volunteers to support UQ.

The Leadership Board provides oversight of the Alumni Friends and Classics and Antiquities Funds, of the UQ Alumni Book Fair, UQ’s 3T Events program, and of related events programs. Comprising of nine members, the Board includes: a President (Chair); representatives from the Book Group and Friends of Antiquity; five additional volunteers; and the UQ Director of Alumni and Community Engagement. The Board meets quarterly, reporting back to members on a regular basis and at a special annual event.

Leadership Board

  • Dr Chris Muir BDS UQ 1973, MDS U of Adelaide (President)
  • Dr Peter Clark Ryan OAM BDSc 1976, MDSc 1982, Fellow FRADCS (Perio), FADI, FICD (Vice President)
  • Dr Clare Morgan BMedSc 1982, MBBS (Hons) 1985 (Vice President)
  • Dr Paul Eliadis AM MBBS (Qld) 1977, BSc (Med) 1978, FRACP, FRCPA (President, Friends of Antiquity)
  • Dr Catherine A. Lawrence BA (Dual Hons) Sheff.1983, MA UQ 2007
  • Helen Cameron BCom 1991, GDipAdvAcc 1993 Suzanne Curran BA 1970, Dip Ed 1971
  • Colin Lynam BA 1988

In addition, the Leadership Board includes Mikaeli Costello (Chief Community Engagement Officer, UQ Advancement and Community Engagement).

We thank the following ‘retiring’ members of the committee for their support and service:

Richard Purdie GCM
Mr John Martin BEcon UQ 1974 BCom UQ 1976 CPA 
Alison Pound B.Sc., Dip. Ed., Grad. Cert. Mol. Biol
Mr Harry Thompson OAM (BSc 1963, GDipED 1964, BEd 1972, MEdSt 1977)
Mrs Anne Mullins (Book Group Representative)
Mrs Patricia Jones OAM BA Qld 1988 SA Fin
Vice-President: Ms Hayley Baxter BLaws UQ 2012 BA UQ 2012 MA UQ 2016
Honorary Secretary: Mrs Juliet O’Brien BEd Griffith 1991
Dr Stephen Papas OAM BDSc 1956
Mrs Janice Thompson BSc Qld 1969 Dip Ed Qld 1970 BEd Qld 1974
Ms Catherine Urquhart BE (Chem) 1984 Masters 1985 GAICD 2010
Ms Kim Jorgensen (Gatton Past Students' Representative)

For more information about volunteering with the Alumni Friends Leadership Board, or to contact the current members, contact us:

Phone: +61 7 3346 3166

Alumni and Community Engagement Centre
Level 1, J.D. Story Building
The University of Queensland
Brisbane 4072 Australia