National awards highlight UQ high achievers

More than 50 people connected with The University of Queensland were recognised in the Australia Day Awards. 

On behalf of the University, Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Peter Høj AC congratulated all UQ awardees and thanked them for their contributions to the nation.

“Again the Australia Day Awards remind us of the depth and breadth of talented people who have been part of UQ over the years, as students, staff, supporters or professional partners,” Professor Høj said.

“Education is a real gift, and it’s wonderful to see how it allows people to give back to society right throughout their lives,” Professor Høj said.

“As we see with this latest honor list, many of our graduates do exactly this, and have rightfully been recognised for giving selflessly beyond the call of duty.”

Dr Paul Eliadis AM, Mrs Joan Cribb OAM and Emeritus
Professor Edward White AM.

Alumnus and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Queensland The Honourable Chief Justice Catherine Holmes AC was appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia and Triple P founder Professor Matthew Sanders AO became an Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia.

Philanthropist Dr Paul Eliadis AM and the TC Beirne School of Law’s Professor Anthony Cassimatis AM received Order of Australia General Division awards, and Dr Stephen Papas OAM received an Order of Australia Medal.

Former UQ Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Education) Emeritus Professor Cindy Shannon AM, longstanding School of Chemical Engineering academic Emeritus Professor Edward White AM and former UQ head of music Emeritus Professor Warren Bebbington AM were recognised with Order of Australia General Division awards.

Professor Anthony Cassimatis AM, The Honourable Chief
Justice Catherine Holmes AC and Dr Stephen Papas OAM. 

Others recognised included:

  • Botanist Mrs Joan Cribb OAM, who studied, taught, researched and volunteered at UQ from 1947 to 2017. She authored 30 scientific papers and co-authored 20.  
  • Professor Raymond Specht AO, UQ botany department head, 1966-1989
  • Mr Barry Leonard Kelly AM, chairman JK Tech since 2003 and Director, UQ Holdings 2004-2011
  • The Reverend Canon Dr John Laurence Morgan AM – Warden, St John’s College UQ, 1982-2012
  • Former politician and UQ alumnus Dr Mary Crawford AM

Congratulations to all UQ community members recognised in the honours list:

Companion of the Order of Australia (AC)

Professor Margaret Gardner AC – former staff

The Honourable Chief Justice Catherine Holmes AC – alumnus

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)

Judge Sarah Bradley AO – alumnus

Professor Peter McIntyre AO – alumnus

The Honourable Campbell Newman AO – alumnus

Professor Matthew Sanders AO – alumnus and staff

Emeritus Professor Raymond Specht AO – former staff

Dr Neil Wetzig AO – alumnus

Dr Robyn Williams AO – alumnus

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)

Dr Alyson Auliff AM – alumnus

Emeritus Professor Warren Bebbington AM – former staff

Professor Anthony Cassimatis AM – alumnus and staff

Professor Pierre Chapuis AM – alumnus

Ms Marita Cowie AM – alumnus

Dr Mary Crawford AM – alumnus

Professor Richard De Dear AM – alumnus

Dr Paul Eliadis AM – alumnus

Mr George Fox AM – alumnus

Dr Janice Hills AM – alumnus

Dr Vedella Hinckley AM – alumnus

Mrs Trina Hockley AM – alumnus

Dr Barry Kelly AM – alumnus

Mr Ken MacDonald AM – alumnus

Ms Jenni Mack AM – alumnus and supporter

The Reverend Canon Dr John Morgan AM – alumnus

Mr David Paratz AM – alumnus

The late Professor Steven Raine AM – alumnus

Dr Peter Riddles AM – alumnus

Emeritus Professor Cindy Shannon AM – alumnus and former staff

Emeritus Professor Edward White AM – alumnus and former staff

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Dr Don Campbell OAM – alumnus

Mr Michael Choi OAM – alumnus

Mrs Joan Cribb OAM – alumnus

Dr Murray Garde OAM – alumnus

Mr James Goodworth OAM – alumnus

Dr Morris Lee OAM – alumnus

Mr John McCoy OAM – alumnus

Dr Sarah Midgley OAM – alumnus

Dr Stephen Papas OAM – alumnus

Mr Edward Ralston OAM – alumnus

Professor Sarva Daman Singh OAM – alumnus

Dr John Stanisic OAM – alumnus

Public Service Medal (PSM)

Mr Colin Cassidy PSM – alumnus

Mrs Helen Ferguson PSM – alumnus

Mr Greg Shanahan PSM – alumnus

Conspicuous Service Cross (CSC)

Mr Michael Ahern CSC – alumnus

Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM)

Mr Bevan Love AFSM – alumnus

Australian Corrections Medal (ACM)

Miss Jenny Lynas ACM - alumnus

For further information on the above awardees, or to view all 2020 Australia Day Award recipients, visit the Governor-General’s website.