The UK/Australia Season is focused on the theme, ‘Who are we now?’ which provides a platform to celebrate the best of our arts and cultural life, with points of connection and collaboration around our shared successes, with a view to celebrate the diversity of cultures and languages in both countries including Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures of Australia and the nations of Wales, Scotland, England and Northern Ireland, as well as the rich societies that have emerged in both the UK and Australia through migration.

The focus of UQ-UK-SIN 'Digital Society' virtual event will be ‘How digitalisation has impacted society’ across a range of key areas including health and medicine; the arts, technology and the ethics of AI. Exploration of these thematic focal points will allow global experts to unpack the evolution of digitalisation and its impact upon society with the lens of art and culture translating points of change bringing us to answer the Seasons’ question – “Who are we now?” 

We note this is a very extensive program, as a result the program will be broken down into two parts.

Part A

Brisbane 4-6pm AEST  
Melbourne 5-7pm AEDT  
London 6-8am GMT  
 
Overview:

Official open to the event with formalities and breakout discussions addressing: 

  • Digital Health and Society 
  • Digital World and Disruptive Technology 

Part B

Time zones:
Brisbane 6-8pm AEST   
Melbourne 7-9pm AEDT    
London 8-10am GMT   
 
Overview:

Engaging keynote speaker, and the 'Great Debate' where you will get to hear from several inspiring and high-profile speakers who will argue either the affirmative or negative side of the topic ‘digitisation is reshaping humanity for the better’.

 Please see the sessions below and register to attend. Both sessions will be recorded and shared to registered attendees post event. 

About Alumni events

UQ alumni events take place in-person and online, across the globe, throughout the year. You can keep up to date with UQ alumni events in your area by updating your details.